It is too early

It looks as though Brett Favre is finally finished

It happens so often where professional athletes are guided towards retirement as they reach their golden years. But when players feel that they have more to offer and a team is willing to give them the opportunity to play with a contract, who’s to say that they should end their career a bit prematurely.

Brett Favre is a player who, for the last few years, has ignored the criticism and calls from fans, media, and even front office personnel to leave the game of football. Now, after another off-season of Brett Favre cat and mouse, a source has told the Associated Press that Favre has in fact informed the Minnesota Vikings that he will not be playing this upcoming NFL season.

This year, just about everyone seemed to think that Favre was going to return for another season at the tender age of 40 years old, and there was no reason to think otherwise. He was coming off a season that saw him in contention for the NFL’s most valuable player as well as being within one game of the Super Bowl. Moreover, Favre delayed his necessary ankle surgery until recently with the intention of avoiding OTA’s and training camp. However, his ankle not healing correctly may be the reason that he is not coming back for another season.

As much as people say they are tired of hearing about Brett Favre I don’t buy it. This season has lost a lot of intrigue now that Brett Favre has supposedly decided not to come back…at least for me.

It was a joy to watch Brett Favre succeed the way he did last year. Who would have thought it was possible for player of Favre’s age and stature to have possibly the best statistical season of his career?

In the game of football player’s are constantly going down with injuries and career-threatening ones at that, yet Brett Favre has managed to make a record 285 consecutive starts while playing at an incredibly high level.

No longer are we going to be able to see an old, hardened veteran, playing the game with the joy akin of a little kid. The passion and desire of a man who has been beat up as much as anyone in his 19-year career is unmatched by anyone.

Brett Favre doesn’t care what people think of him, but that is exactly what makes him one of the best to ever put on an NFL jersey. His gun slinging ways would not be possible if not for his lack of a conscious.

Could any other athlete have shown up at the ESPY’s all smiles despite the uncertainty surrounding his decision of whether or not to return?

Virtually everyone knows the saying “you don’t know what you got until it’s gone.” Well, that’s the song we’re going to be hearing for quite some time when we talk about Brett Favre and it is sad that we are not going to see another possible magical season from the legendary #4.

Agree? Disagree? If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, please feel free to reply in the comments section below. Or you can e-mail me at cross_can15@hotmail.com. I’m now on twitter follow me @paintstheblack and I will gladly return the favour.

Subscribe to my blog as well and you can get the latest posts such as Note to NHL GM’s — This is Getting out of Hand

Also check out howiGit’s blog.

About Chris Ross
Questions, comments, suggestions? Send yours to cross_can15@hotmail.com. Follow me on twitter @paintstheblack

34 Responses to It is too early

  1. odyssey96 says:

    Well done blog……..I’ll be back and hope you will continue to visit: http://eclecticramblings.wordpress.com

  2. Vikings UK says:

    Really good article! It’s good to see that there are plenty of people out there who really appreciate what a great player Favre is, and give him the respect he deserves. You’re right, the NFL will be a much duller place without the legendary #4. Let’s just hope this is all a fabrication by certain media outlets in desperate need of some hits.

  3. Max says:

    Favre is an amazing athlete and has had a heck of a run. I still think he may come back, but the mental aspect of the game has to be wearing on him. He shoulders a lot of the load, and that has to be exhausting. We’ll just have to wait and see…

  4. Ken Price says:

    The NFL will certainly not be as exciting with him gone. He earned the right to do whatever he wanted career wise, so while I was tired of the media coverage, I never held it against him.

    I think it all boils down to his ankle. While Favre was never fast, he had quick feet and pocket presence that allowed him to avoid the first rusher and buy time to make a big play down field. While the arm is still there, it only does so much good if his mobility was limited.

  5. Jason Marks says:

    Good article and I see where you’re coming from. I just didn’t like the way he held teams hostage for the last 3 years with the same song and dance. No one can deny he’s one of the greatest, but he could have handled this much better than he did. He had three chances to.

  6. kbv510 says:

    oh, this is kind of like the post that you commented on on my blog.

    Any way, this is a very good and detailed article, ours was kind of just like a summary.

    Anyways, i know a lot of people said that they didnt like Favre and his story of him retiring and coming back, but i dont think they really did. I mean Favre was a person that needs to be a Hall of Famer, the old people in the 90’s new him and even the new people right now know him as a amazing player.

    Oh, we are movin our blog over here

    http://www.nfltalksite.com/

  7. Thanks for the comments man. I like your take on the situation and there is no denying that Favre was as good as it gets and that he put it all out there every single game. Yet, that does not give you the right to be placed on a pedestol and to be able to skip training camp while taking all the time you want to make a decision. I understand it more this year due to the injury, but if you want to play you should show up and be a part of the team just like everyone else. That isn’t to say that Favre needed to be a full participant in training camp the last few years because there is no need to use yourself up before the season. But he could have shown up and at least attended meetings and watched the practices along with his teammates.

  8. I really can’t with Brett Favre….It’s time to hang it up, you’ve had a successful 20 year career with the NFL…..considering becoming a sports commentator.

  9. kbv510 says:

    yeah man nice article, were moving back to nfltalksite.com so please visit us over there. thank you

  10. csoileau12 says:

    Great article. I love watching Brett Favre play and I will absolutely miss seeing him on the field. He gave us 20 great seasons of football and his departure totally changes the NFC division and the NFL League as well. He had such a good season last year and for him not to come back this year, I think his ankle may be hurting more than we will ever know, Please check out my sports blog @ ttp://girlslovesports2.wordpress.com/

  11. txtmstrjoe says:

    My big problem with Favre has very little to do with what he’s done on the field, even if I do believe he’s a bit overrated as a quarterback, to be honest. He may be the statistical leader in many categories for QBs, but he’s never ever shown that he has ever learned how to take care of the ball. A QB who has played as long as he has should, in my opinion, be having fewer interceptions as the years go on, not more.

    But I digress.

    My problem with Favre is that he is a narcissistic, egomaniacal attention whore. In this way, he’s a lot like LeBron James. His status as a player, whether or active or retired, is a simple one; it’s like a yes-no question, a black or white issue. But he has shown throughout the years that he loves to cultivate attention over such a simple matter. He strings you along, lapping up the attention the media and many fans give him, whether it is positive or negative attention.

    A classier person would simply commit to a decision, then make a simple announcement. But cultivating a “Will I return? Will I retire?” kind of situation, as he has over the last few years now only destroys whatever respect I have for the man.

    My apologies for expressing my honest opinions. I have to say, though, that you wrote a good entry. Thank you for turning me on to it.

  12. mattregaw says:

    Great post, like your blog and thanks for commenting on mine. I plan on taking advantage of Favre “retiring” now and getting odds on the Vikes to win the Superbowl!

    ~Matt

    http://regawworld.wordpress.com/

  13. Very nice post. I appreciate the comment as well.
    Favre is a talented, strong and competitive football player. He’s made an impact on the league that will not soon be forgotten. Though, I believe that it’s a good time and a prime opportunity to walk away.
    The game is wearing on his mental and physical strength (which has become quite clear from recent injuries), and as he ages it’s becoming harder for him. I don’t think anyone believes that when he puts down the playbook that he’ll no longer be involved with the league. I’m sure he’ll still be a huge part and always stay involved with the game he loves most.
    Personally, I think that’s it’s time he walked away from the Superbowl and walked along a promising path towards the Hall of Fame.
    There are a lot of things that I don’t respect about Brett, like that he’s quite the drama queen, that he’s constantly being put on a pedestal and have the ability to walk in and take the job from Jackson whenever he pleases. & I suppose myself being a diehard Bears fan doesn’t really help my positive attitude towards him very much at all.
    Though, I really enjoy your view on it. Thanks!

  14. Eric Patten says:

    I’m not crazy about Favre, on or off the field. To me, the perfect end to his career is Vikings play-by-play man Paul Allen’s reaction to the “gunslinging,” game-deciding interception against the Saints. Favre’s won one Super Bowl, thrown more playoff INTs than anyone, and held his teams hostage during four straight off-seasons. The idea that what makes him great is that he doesn’t care what other people think of him is a little off. Nobody says that about Terrell Owens–T.O. and Favre are probably more alike than people want to admit, especially in their desire for attention.
    Other than my opinion of Favre, I like your article. If you’re interested in more sports news, including an upcoming comparision between Favre’s “indecision” and Lebron’s so-called “Decision” keep checking greatwesternforum.wordpress.com.

  15. Eric Patten says:

    Sorry. meant to provide a link: http://greatwesternforum.wordpress.com/

  16. badgerbratwurstintexas says:

    Great post Chris Ross about Brett Favre. I appreciated your comment on my blog as well. As I said in my comment to you on my blog don’t give up on Brett Favre’s future until it’s official. We’ll see what happens and keep watching. Keep in touch. badgerbratman

  17. Kevin Bertha says:

    Very nice Chris. I feel the same way you do. I love Favre, and I’d love to see him back for just one more run at magic.

    Keep in touch, and keep reading The Sports Nut.

    All the best—Kevin

  18. chappy81 says:

    Love or hate the guy you want him in the league. It means more to beat him, and more to lose to him, because he is a difference maker. I hope he comes back! I don’t really believe all the conflicting stories going around though. Minnesota is acting like they don’t care. I’m sure they have some guys on the inside working to please Favre in every way they can! He’ll be back at least by the bye week…

  19. tkgword says:

    very informative and I learned a lot!!!

  20. R. says:

    A much better analysis than mine. Congrats, sir. He really is one of the greats of the sport and age doesn’t seem to have hampered his ability at all. If anything, the only notable difference in his game is his fragility, which was made more than evident in the conference title game last season. I know it’s hardly honest football but now that the best way to keep him quiet has been showcased, if he does come back for next year he’ll have a much harder time of it I should think. All things must come to an end, I guess, and he’s probably pretended to go one time too many if he does come back next year. To be honest, I can’t see him topping last year’s run no matter who he signs for, so maybe it’s best the old #4 goes out on a high.

    R.

    http://oldnumberthree.wordpress.com

  21. schappelear says:

    Chris,

    Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting. I’m very impressed with what you’ve done at such a young age. I created my blog as an outlet for things I wouldn’t get to write about otherwise, but being a professional sportswriter I don’t have as much time as I’d like to post. Hopefully you can check back now and again. My advice is keep at it, keep doing what you’re doing, and definitely keep checking out what other people are doing to see what you like and what you don’t to continue to tweak things. Good luck, and glad you’re not majoring in journalism! ;-)

    Scott
    End of the Bench

  22. Thanks for visiting my blog, Chris! Looks like you may get your wish to see Favre come back for another season, but that may change a few times by the time I finish typing here. I agree that this NFL season would not be as interesting if Favre doesn’t suit up. People want to see him play whether they are cheering for him or against him, no matter how much they detest the offseason waffling.

    Alex
    The Sketch Blog

  23. Kyle Sundgren says:

    Like I said in my own blog, I’m not going to believe he’s really retired until I see him not join any team after week 6.

  24. Nathaniel says:

    Good post. Favre plays hard, has fun and wins games. Leaves you no choice but to enjoy his play (once he’s decided to play).

  25. spark0919 says:

    Great post….I guess we’ll just have to see in the following weeks haha. I just hope he sticks around so I can have a backup QB in my fantasy league haha

  26. weze35 says:

    I liked this post a lot. Very well-written and a bit more optimistic than my post about favre (http://nyfanatic.wordpress.com) and it’s good to know that his legacy is still untarnished for some because he is and was such a great quarterback. It’s interesting to hear an opinion about favre and his legacy different from my own, but unfortunately i still think that for america he has really damaged his reputation with his constant retiring and unretiring. Thanks for the comment on my post.

  27. Great post man! I agree we will miss Brett Favre the player if and when he retires this year. We just won’t miss Favre the diva whose held 3 seperate hostages and millions of fans hostage during the course of the last 3 summers….I will definitely keep up with your blog, you have a lot of insight…..everyone check out my blog…http://adrianingram.wordpress.com/….I also have some insight on this Brett Favre story.

  28. Big Wads says:

    Definitely agree for the most part. I loved him as a player and no one can question what he did on the field. He was amazing to watch and the league would undoubtedly be worse without him. But just like the LeBron thing, it should have been handled differently, which goes on media outlets and the Vikings organization as much as Favre. I’ll be checking back regularly, feel free to keep reading bigwads.wordpress.com for updates from me as well.

  29. Jae_Sexxx says:

    Hey, It’s Jae from http://prolificmovementblog.com

    Your post was very much more in depth than I’ve seen around here. Kudos.

    It will be a saddened league without Bret because he is to football as to what Michael Jordan was to the NBA when he played on the Wizards. He’s always gonna show flashes of talent. However, Fine wine gets better with age but I wish it were the same for us humans. He has to make a decision to retire in my opinion to prevent any life long injuries.

  30. pinkcleats says:

    Thanks for checking out our article on Brett Favre at wordpress.pinkcleats.com! That was written by a guest blogger of mine. I liked your write up too. I actually like Favre. Anyone who is an athlete (or has been an athlete) understands in the twilight of your career that at seasons end you are tired and think “I can’t do this anymore”, then your body heals in the off-season and you second guess giving up what you love. I’m not mad at Favre. I get it.

  31. Pingback: Brett Favre: Lost in Translation

  32. janeyquiel says:

    I agree with your assumption.

  33. Dore3Cuoco says:

    http://www.bootsale2ugg.com – cheap ugg on sale , you can scent the boots. I do advise you to take a whiff ahead of you put on them. Apart from, you ought to not confuse the scent of your own foot with the odor of the chemical substances utilised to colour synthetic materials. The scent resembles that of paint and the unique boots are clearly odorless. http://www.bootsale2ugg.com – ugg boots outlet The http://www.bootsale2ugg.com – uggs sale are typically regarded as comfortable and fashionable options for freezing feet practically almost everywhere. And it is not tough to recognize their design. On the other hand, is it straightforward to inform whether or not the boots are the original products or very low-priced fakes? As far as I know, there are a wonderful number of faux Ugg boots which are faked well in rather a number of regions of our planet.

  34. Abnoftirrit says:

    Trend is considered one of our fears presently. Several believe that Moncler Outlet Store looking and emotion excellent will do terrific within your everyday living for undoubtedly it’ll boost up your self-esteem. This may be observed at do the job. For the people experts, owning that felling that you’ll be at your best suite would unquestionably insert approximately your general performance in function. Even for many who are just trying to find Red Sole Shoes position, proper putting on of garments would certainly be of the edge. For college students, it will provde the braveness to experience all difficulties that can come your way in class specially within your social everyday living to be a teenager. Hunting superior has become a necessity to survive the competitive entire world these days. Being omitted with style would also necessarily mean staying omitted in several aspects of like.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

